Skip to content

The Holy Ground


6 Church St, St. Johns Sq, LimerickGoogle MapsArrow
  • This now-derelict building was once The Holy Ground pub and more recently Coasters Off Licence.
  • The Holy Ground had a very unique feature, in that it was a bar on a graveyard, dating back to the 17th century.
  • It was even recorded that The Holy Ground had a large tomb inside the bar, which was rumoured to have been used as a personal office by the bar owner until his death.
  • This site was one of 12 listed venues for the 28th edition of EVA in 2004, curated by Zdenka Badovinac (b. 1958, Slovenia) and titled Imagine Limerick.
  • It was number of bars in Limerick that were used for a project titled Traces of Fire (2004) by artists Volkmar Klien (b. 1971, Austria) and Ed Lear (b. 1971, UK). Traces of Fire was a city-wide tracking project, in which cigarette lighters with tracking devices were surreptitiously left to be picked up by members of the public. The artists monitored the movements of the lighters across the city, creating a map of the city that was then exhibited in City Hall, Merchants Quay.

Artwork presented at this venue

Volkmar Klien and Ed Lear, Traces of Fire, 2004.